Powder River Examiner -

County split nearly caused wedding woes


October 10, 2019

By Amorette Allison, History Columnist for the Miles City Star

County-splitting was a popular activity in Montana during the teens of the 20th century. Custer County, which at one time made up half of eastern Montana, was further reduced, with chunks going to Fallon County in 1913 and Carter County in 1917. Small bits were nibbled off by Wibaux County in 1914 and Prairie County in 1915.

The last big split came in 1919 when Powder River County was created.

Creating a county wasn’t easy but it was popular. There was a notion that county seats were bound to boom and surely railroads would wa...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 11/17/2019 21:07